Syndicated News
Turkey Imposes Curfew in 15 Areas in East

Turkish authorities have imposed a curfew on 15 areas in Mus' district of Varto in the east of Turkey, Mus governorate announced on Monday (July 10).

The Mus governorate said in a statement that the curfew would last until military operations ended in the Mount Kolan region.

The curfew would affect the villages of Kolan, Tekneduzu, Yesildal, Onpinar, Koprucuk, Kaynarca and Caycati as well as the neighborhoods of Caglak and Gulluce and Meti hammlet, Seyrek, Yesildal, Cukur, Koprucuk and Tekneduzu uplands.

Turkey is currently embroiled in a three-decade long conflict with the Kurdistan Workers' Party (PKK) which has also seen the Kurdish group carrying out attacks on the state targeting Turkish security services.

Turkey has imposed curfews in several cities in the southeast in an effort to root out the PKK. Hundreds have died since the PKK and the Turkish state resumed hostilities after the collapse of the ceasefire in July 2015.

Southeastern Turkey has plunged back into some of its worst violence since the 1990s after a two-year ceasefire between the PKK and the state collapsed in July 2015.

Type your comment and click
or register to post a comment.
Bookmark and Share

* required field
User ID*
enter user ID or e-mail to recover login credentials